Hot Historic battle for Phakisa

Round 2 of the Historic Racing South Africa (HRSA) Charlies Superspar Pursuit Racing Challenge is heading to Phakisa Freeway on Saturday April 27 for the Freedom Day races.

Handicap format racing ensures all cars complete all the laps, with the result in doubt right up to the last lap.



Looking to capitalise on a great start to the season is Richard Tudor-Owen (1993 Mercedes Benz 190E), who leads the Fine Car class championship after round 1. Rob Clark (1979 Citroen GS Club) and Rob van Aarle (1969 Ford Escort 1300 Super) will be challenging for the Fine Car honours. Others that will be hoping to make an impression on the fast-flowing Phakisa Freeway circuit are Bert van Aarle (Lotus Elite M75) and Clive Winterstein (Porsche 356A)

In the Trophy class, Wernher Hartzenberg (1982 Porsche 928S); leads out the class championship after round 1 will be looking forward to unleashing the power at Phakisa Freeway to consolidate his lead. Challengers will come from William Kelly/Rikus Botha (MG Midget) and Kola de Klerk, in his rapid 1983 Nissan 300ZX. Our lady drivers Nadine von Moltke-Todd (1983 Mercedes Benz 280CE), Althea Pretorius (1983 Porsche 924) will be going all out to show the men a thing or two.

Some exciting new cars will be making their debut at Phakisa including the 1962 Lotus 23 of Robbie Franks, Carlo de Castro (1957 MGA). Expect close racing from this wide variety of classic cars driven to their limit.

In the Universal Healthcare Pre 80 Saloons, expect the giant killing Ford Escorts of Alan Green and Frank Davis to be leading the big bangers of Colin Ellison (Ford Thunderbolt) and Mike O’Sullivan (Chevy SS) and Mario Rossi (Alfa Romeo GTV6) in class D, as they go bumper to bumper for line honours.


Not to be outdone the Class E protagonists Andre Ten-Appel (VW Scirroco) and Rene van Rensburg (Ford Escort) and Terence Ladner (Ford Capri 3000) will be giving it their all. Class F should be a closely contested affair with Jan Jacobs (Alfa Romeo GT Junior) expected to lead the way.

Hot on his heels challenging for honours will be Sean Hepburn (Datsun 1200 GX), Willem Vonk (Ford Escort Mk2) and the returning Jose Vasques (Mercedes Benz 280 CE). Class G sees the debut of Johan Swanepoel’s Fiat 124 Sport BC, going head to head with Fanie Kloppers (Mercedes Benz 280) in what promises to be a ding dong battle of handling versus horsepower.

In the Pre 90 Sports and GT category Peter Bailey (Porsche 911) and Richardt Schuhardt (Porsche) and Stefan Snyders (Porsche 911 RSR) will be battling for Porsche honours, whilst Sophos Pantazis in his rapid Datsun 240Z is sure to be a thorn in side of the Porsche brigade.

Copy: Supplied
Images: Ralph Pike

Leave a Reply