Colin-on-Cars – Kristofferson crowned Champion

Covid has put paid to the final round of the World Rallycross Championship so Johan Kristofferson has been declared the 2020 Champion.

KYB Team JC win the 2020 FIA World Rallycross Championship for Teams.

A number of options were explored in the hopes of moving forward with this event, but unfortunately it was not possible in the end.

“We were all very much looking forward to this premiere at our race track,” says Nürburgring Managing Director Mirco Markfort. “The FIA World Rallycross Championship is an entertaining and action-packed format that further enriches our portfolio. Nevertheless, this decision is essential for the benefit of all involved and their health.

“Although the Nürburgring has successfully proved over the months that events with spectators also work in the context of infection protection, the situation is now a different one due to the sharp rise in the number of infections. We are now looking forward to the World RX at the Nürburgring 2021.“

“We offer our warmest congratulations to Johan and the KYB Team JC for their well-deserved titles,” stated Paul Bellamy, Senior Vice President of Motorsports Events at IMG. “We are disappointed we were not able to hold our final event in Germany, but are very proud of the season we were able to produce throughout these unprecedented times, and our deepest gratitude goes to all our event organisers, partners and fans for their patience and continued support through it all.”

Leave a Reply