Colin-on-Cars – Rewarding our truckers

There is R50 000 up for grabs in a new competition launched this month as a demonstration of their appreciation for truck drivers by Iveco SA and the Road Freight Association.

The #ThankYouTrucker competition is an initiative, to recognise, celebrate and thank extraordinary truck drivers and will run from until July 31, 2021.

This new competition is a way of saying ‘thank you’ to the truckers on our roads, who work tirelessly to keep South Africa moving.

“Truckers have had an especially challenging year amidst the COVID-19 pandemic,” says Martin Liebenberg, Commercial Manager of Iveco SA. “They have been our unsung heroes, delivering food, medicine and other essentials during the hard lockdown, and beyond that, ensuring we continued to have much-needed and much-loved non-essential items.

“The life of a truck driver is not easy: they spend many hours away from their loved ones and their homes,” continues Liebenberg. “In recognition of their dedication, Iveco SA and the RFA have collaborated on this initiative.

Iveco is aiming to acknowledge the role of truck drivers and also to raise public awareness of the contribution of these unsung heroes.”

#ThankYouTrucker is looking for the most extraordinary freight driver, a remarkable individual who goes above and beyond the call of duty. This driver is helpful, trustworthy, dependable, caring and passionate about his/her career in trucking.

“Almost every aspect of our daily lives is made possible because a truck driver delivered the goods and resources people need,” adds Gavin Kelly, Chief Executive Officer of the Road Freight Association. “If you got it, a truck brought it!

“The #ThankYouTrucker competition is our way of paying tribute to all our truck drivers for their hard work, dedication and commitment.”

Company owners, operations managers, direct line managers or fleet managers may nominate a driver/s and submit a motivation online at

The deadline for entries is  July 5, 2021, after which finalists will be shortlisted. The finalists will be announced on  July 9 and the public will have up until July 24 to vote online for the most deserving trucker. The driver with the most votes will win.

“We encourage all road freight operators to celebrate their drivers’ achievements and submit nominations,” concludes Liebenberg. “We look forward to receiving nominations and sharing the stories of South Africa’s exceptional truck drivers.”

Leave a Reply